Ekphrastic 16/Remedy Lane

In my hermitage this backwards road is my bed
the place I occupy in dreams
a skull sloshing ocean
bone-scalped, sometimes
dirt stains like anti-matter.
My mane of fern and chain.
My tincture my heritage
it makes my throat glass see

what I swallow:

tree-girls and rope-makers

I have chainsaws for teeth.

……………………………….

 

(Road Salt is not on the album Remedy Lane, but still.  It’s Pain of Salvation, and it relates.)

……………………………….
[Ekphrasis is art in reaction to art. Basically. And I don’t think about the art I consume enough. And I haven’t been writing poetry as much as I should. So every Friday, I’ll post an ekphrastic poem about whatever art I’ve been eating lately (books, poetry, anime, paintings, films, so on).]

Ekphrastic Poetry Archive

2 thoughts on “Ekphrastic 16/Remedy Lane

  1. Pingback: Ekphrastic 17/Basilisk «

  2. Pingback: Ekphrastic Poems «

Leave a Reply

