Ekphrastic 10/The Hunger Games

We are scarce.
Veritable.
Influx.
Make me want you.
The rose, ice-petaled and exhaling fog.
Her robot was a nice one.
It had loved her, but not enough.
To her luck, she had never loved it.
So things were good.
Then she met a man.
She loved him.
He loved his robot.
Hearts lined with machine oil.
Is that supposed to make us start?
Or go?
Just decide.
Love me. Love me not.
Take me. Take me. Take.
This life is just ice.
Her eyes were wood grain.
Brown globes. No continents. A core, though.
Curl next to me.
Our serrated edges fit together.

………………………………………………………………………

Also, everyone should read this article in The New Yorker about The Hunger Games:

White Until Proven Black: Imagining Race in Hunger Games

………………………………………………………………………

[Ekphrasis is art in reaction to art. Basically. And I don’t think about the art I consume enough. And I haven’t been writing poetry as much as I should. So every Friday, I’ll post an ekphrastic poem about whatever art I’ve been eating lately (books, poetry, anime, paintings, films, so on).]

Ekphrastic Poetry Archive:

Ekphrastic 1/RIN: Daughters of Mnemosyne

Ekphrastic 2/Blood Meridian

Ekphrastic 3/The Walking Dead

Ekphrastic 4/ A Song of Ice and Fire: A Storm of Swords

Ekphrastic 5/Sextraterrestrial

Ekphrastic 6/Andrej Pejic

Ekphrastic 7/A Study in Aphroxology

Ekphrastic 8/雲のむこう、約束の場所 (The Place Promised in our Early Days)

Ekphrastic 9/Breaking Bad

5 thoughts on “Ekphrastic 10/The Hunger Games

  1. Pingback: Did I buy the right “Hunger Games” book?

  2. Pingback: Ekphrastic 11/Jessica Naomi «

  3. Pingback: Ekphrastic 12/The Fifth Element «

  4. Pingback: Ekphrastic 13/Redline «

  5. Pingback: Ekphrastic 15/gored |

Leave a Reply

