Ekphrastic 4/A Song of Ice and Fire: A Storm of Swords

Ekphrasis is art in reaction to art. Basically. And I don’t think about the art I consume enough. And I haven’t been writing poetry as much as I should. So every Friday, I’ll post an ekphrastic poem about whatever art I’ve been eating lately (books, poetry, anime, paintings, films, so on).
…………………….
Ekphrastic 4/A Song of Ice and Fire: A Storm of Swords

TYRION:
I married ice. I lost my hands (and nose and a good fuck).
Don’t blame me if I have nothing witty to say.

SANSA:
oh, oh, oh

JAIME:
wench wench wench

ARYA:
you gods,
cyclic names
kill

THE HOUND:
give me ice any day. give
birdsong give me an Other
give me gold
give me
me
my little bird

JON:
I know nothing.
…………….
Yeah, it’s late. I’d ask for forgiveness, but I just finished the beginnings of a huge batch of baechu kimchi and a huge batch of purple sauerkraut, and fermented foods never require forgiveness. Also, I’ve been checking my email obsessively, because grad school acceptance/rejection/waitlist season has begun. But mostly, I’ve been lazy/planning my wedding-handfasting/editing a book/preparing an album for release.
……………………..

Ekphrastic Poetry Archive:

Ekphrastic 1/RIN: Daughters of Mnemosyne

Ekphrastic 2/Blood Meridian

Ekphrastic 3/The Walking Dead

One thought on “Ekphrastic 4/A Song of Ice and Fire: A Storm of Swords

  1. Pingback: Ekphrastic 15/gored |

Leave a Reply

