death note

Stephen Graham Jones said that Bradbury said to write one story a week and I think that’s a really good idea.

So that’s what I’m going to do, starting now until forever.  Story one is done.  Sent off to the wordslaves.  By Saturday, it’ll be in line, probably awaiting rejection, which doesn’t really matter because on Sunday, I’ll be writing again.  I’ll let Stephen Graham Jones (an awesome long-haired prof at Colorado) explain with this quote of his that I love:

If you wait to submit until you’re good enough, you’ll never submit, and if you wait for rejections to come in before starting the next thing, you’re going to write maybe six stories in your life. Just never stop writing, and read read read, and not just in the genre your heart belongs to. Read the stuff you fully expect to hate. There’s stuff you can steal there, and you won’t feel bad, because you hate those people anyway. (source)

GO WRITE, PEOPLE.

4 thoughts on “death note

  1. Excellent resolution – best of luck with it. I’d add reading into the mix too – and adventurous reading at that. At the moment I’m doing a mad project to read a book from every country in the world in 2012. I’m amazed at the creative possibilities the stories I’m discovering are opening up in my own mind. Should have done it years ago…

    Have fun.

    • Reading’s definitely a component. Besides the books I can’t and will not resist (like WWZ, A Song of Ice and Fire, Troll: A Love Story, The Long Dark Tea Time the Soul, so on…), I plan to catch up on all those books I should have read long ago. It’s an embarrassing list (my fault, not the books): The Iliad, Odyssey, anything by Shakespeare that doesn’t include Romeo and Juliet, Jane Austen, Carl Sagan, Faulkner, lots of myth and folklore, lots of poetry and lots more.

      Anyway, thanks for mentioning your list–it’ll be fascinating to follow your project and, though my own reading list is a bit more haywire and less epic, keeping an eye on yours will probably give a bit more shape and direction to mine.

Leave a Reply

